Funkangeles

A World O Funk…. Damn-it! where is my band?

Los Angeles & I

Leave a comment

1-2012-06-027

OK
Me.Funkangeles is Daryl Wilfred Vanterpool named after Wilfred Vanterpool my Grand dad. My friends call me ddub(DW).Mr. Larry Graham’s bass playing for Sly Stone is whom I wish to emulate. That is until i found Jazz.
I don’t mind practicing and I love playing with others. When I got my 1st bass (see hello world 1st post) I walked home from Reeds Music in New London,Ct and started to practices. I play and banged that instrument until school the following Monday.I could wait to get home. I lost friends because all talked about was bass bass bass. I got musician friends now. Playing live is my thing. I use to had crazy energy onstage.(many a night I’ve ran out of my plug, until i learned) Key words, “USE TO”. I just keep up now. My bass gets six outta the seven days in a week of my time.(I usually clear this with new girlfriend) I tend to goof around on the piano which, has it’s practice time and it’s how i write most of my compositions. Truth be told, I’m a horrible pianist. I’ve been at it so long and I feel I’m still not as good as i would like. I would think to Joe/Jane average any playing is good.
Story
I agree, when I graduated from high school i signed up for summer school just so i could take piano for the first time. We didn’t have one at home and college was starting in 3 months and I was majoring in music, so I had a challenge ahead of me. Ready for the summer i got a surprise. The piano class at Dorsey high had only one piano. Reminding me i was living in a depressed neighborhood but it was home.And I was gonna learn. They gave us these 2 1/2 octave wooden piano slate that you sat on your desk and learned proper hand position and form. No sound big disappointment.
It was here i foolish believed i was baddest fake wooden piano playing student, that teacher ever did see. Got an A for the class……ijs
Thank for reading
ddubayu

Author: Funkangeles

Finding myself one story at time..and... Really, where are you? My Band.. Musically inclined to encourage humans and non humans, to enjoy themselves...

Leave a Reply

